Robert Browning's works online : | |

 A brief introduction to Robert Browning, with text for some of his most famous poems. .

Find Robert Browning's works in libraries:

They contain discussions of metaphysical problems, such as the origin of evil, which are interesting as indications of his creed, but can scarcely be regarded as successful either poetically or philosophically.Another group of poems showed Browning's interest in Greek literature.

They had a son, Robert 'Pen' Browning, in 1849, the same year his Collected Poems was published.

My Last Duchess was written by Robert Browning in 1842.

The first complete edition of the works of Robert Browning with variant readings and annotations contains: 1. The entire contents of the first editions of Browning’s work; 2. All prefaces and dedications which Browning wrote for his own works and for those of Elizabeth Barrett Browning and others; 3. The two prose essays: and ; 4. The front matter and tables of contents of each of the collected editions (1849, 1863, 1865, 1868, 1888–1889) which Browning himself saw through the press; 5 Poems by Browning published during his lifetime but not collected by him; 9. Poems not published during Browning’s lifetime which have come to light since his death; 7. John Forster’s to which Browning contributed significantly, though to what precise extent has not been determined.

The edition provides a full apparatus, including variant readings and annotations.

Robert Browning (1812-1889) was an English poet noted for his mastery of dramatic monologue.

The representations of the Duchess, which focus on her ever-present smile and easily satisfied nature, come in sharp contrast with the desperate, sputtering language of the Duke as he tries to tell their story on his own terms....

Robert Browning got secretly married to Elizabeth Barrett in 1846 and went on to live in Italy.

Kingshaw Monologue from My Last Duchess by Robert Browning

In seventeen volumes, copublished with Baylor University, this acclaimed series features annotated texts of all of Robert Browning’s known writing. The series encompasses autobiography as well as influences bearing on Browning’s life and career and aspects of Victorian thought and culture.

Volume XI of The Complete Works of Robert Browning contains two strikingly disparate long poems from the 1870s, Fifine at the Fair and Red Cotton Night-Cap Country. In Fifine at the Fair, Browning creates an idiosyncratic version of the Don Juan figure, a distinctly post-Romantic and intellectual Don Juan who derives little from any literary predecessor. The legendary character is realized in a modern French setting, the village of Pornic, a favorite vacation spot for Browning. The poem is a sustained exercise in self-justification and casuistry, with Don Juan persuading himself that he can reconcile his love of his wife with his carnal love for a gipsy girl.

Though Red Cotton Night-Cap Country is similarly concerned with a struggle between spirit and flesh, the poem is entirely based in contemporary events. Using newspaper accounts and legal documents, Browning tells the strange and shocking tale of a rich and devout Frenchman who throws himself from the roof of his chateau, convinced that heaven will deliver him from death. Upon the question of his sanity hinges the disposition of his considerable estate, and the poet traces the claims and counterclaims to their settlement in court only a few months before he wrote the poem.

As always in this series of critical editions, a complete record of textual variants is provided, as well as extensive explanatory notes.

Global Reach Ministry | Robert browning biography …

Reggae was the new sound to fill the void of faltering creativity. Bob Marley began as a cult for the knowledgeable globe trotter, and as an exciting new dimension for rock music fans craving something fresh and original. Marley made you believe we could all get together.

Robert browning biography essays - Devis Salle de Bain …

“The Dark Tower” series of books by written by from 1982 – 2012 and is inspired by the poem “Childe Roland to the Dark Tower Came” by Robert Browning. There are currently eight books in the series and it is a combination of science fiction, westerns, fantasy and of course, and of course, plenty of horror. Here is the official description from .